• Review: Hooper’s War Shows “Moments of Prized Grace”

    August 4, 2017

    Tags: , ,
    Posted in: Hooper's War



    A new review of Hooper’s War: A Novel of WWII Japan from the Historical Novel Society says “This anti-war novel in the tradition of Catch 22 and Slaughterhouse Five unfolds in reverse order timeline. It is intense and bloody, with moments of prized grace preserving its humanity.” Here’s the full review:

    Although set in WWII Japan, it is re-imagined as if the atomic bombs were not unleashed and an invasion of Japan proceeds. The war is still raging in 1946, and the ancient city of Kyoto is about to be firebombed. Nineteen-year-old Lieutenant Nate Hooper is in way over his head. He depends on his war-experienced sergeant to help him lead the men in his charge. But they keep dying around him.

    With a wounded comrade, Nate seeks refuge in the house of a Japanese woman, Naoko. They take time out of the carnage to reflect and connect. They are soon joined by a Japanese soldier, Sergeant Nakagawa, a childhood friend of the woman. We also learn his story. Neither man can escape the trauma that war has unleashed. Seventy years later, Nate returns to Japan, still looking for the power to allow him to heal.

    This anti-war novel in the tradition of Catch 22 and Slaughterhouse Five unfolds in reverse order timeline. It is intense and bloody, with moments of prized grace preserving its humanity. Its trauma and dilemmas are as fresh as the anguish that today’s returning vets are experiencing.




    Related Articles:




    Copyright © 2017. All rights reserved. The views expressed here are solely those of the author(s) in their private capacity. Follow me on Twitter!

    Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedin
  • Recent Comments

    • Bruce said...

      1

      But, Still $tuDying WAR.

      08/4/17 9:24 PM | Comment Link

    • chuck said...

      2

      War is “Dumbo”…Let’s go to the video ! Wage Peace. TY PVB.

      08/5/17 8:05 AM | Comment Link

    • chuck said...

      3

      McMacster,… BDS. BB indicted yet? Innocent until … Israel, US, and the House of Saud.are the Axis of Evil. Have a nice day.

      08/5/17 1:10 PM | Comment Link

    • chuck said...

      4

      McMaster is the correct spelling. Sorry swine.

      08/5/17 1:14 PM | Comment Link

    • chuck said...

      5

      I know the U.S. does not try to fix elections, but, did the U.S. Co. get who they wanted in the past S.Korean election? Still have bases in Syria (not invited) or S.K.? Why?

      08/5/17 1:27 PM | Comment Link

    • chuck said...

      6

      Send in the clowns, the orange one, and the d and r ones. The Pigs paid by the Corporate Duopoly Masters and AIPAC. Hey Mr. Better Deal Change Schumer (pig/d/ny) BDS!

      08/5/17 2:08 PM | Comment Link

    • chuck said...

      7

      Time out. Kumbaya

      08/5/17 2:19 PM | Comment Link

    Leave A Comment

    Mail (will not be published) (required)

IP Blocking Protection is enabled by IP Address Blocker from LionScripts.com.